on fighting

To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.
e.e.cummings

I’ve been doing a lot of fighting, as it goes. I don’t consider myself particularly aggressive, but I don’t think the systems we have ended up with are necessarily the right ones, collectively. That may well be ‘how we’ve always done things’, but so what? If it is broken, do fix it. Sure that takes time and resources, but mainly it just messes with the status quo, and I like a bit of that. Just ’cause you’ve had it your way all this time doesn’t mean you should expect it to stay like that. Share a little, eh?

Sometimes I wonder why I bother. Sometimes I’m grateful I apparently have the strength & determination to keep going. But it always helps to have other people remind you that being normal is not always the goal. I think Bill Buxton was the first person to really make me understand that.

Whatever, it’s nice to have giant’s shoulders to stand on…

(thanks to @christydena for the quote, taken from her blog post announcing her newly published PhD research: Transmedia Practice: Theorising the Practice of Expressing a Fictional World across Distinct Media and Environments. a must-read and something I’ll talk about another time).

Leave a Reply

